2015 Direct Support Professional Recognition AwardsImage Banner

2015 Direct Support Professional Recognition Awards

You are here

2015 Direct Support Professional Recognition Awards

Monday, February 9, 2015

2015 Direct Support Professional Recognition Awards
are being underwritten by
Relias Learning


In 2007, ANCOR awarded its first national Direct Support Professional Recognition Awards in conjunction with the National Advocacy Campaign (NAC). Since then, ANCOR has recognized more than 200 state and national direct support professionals and members of the long-term supports and services workforce. The campaign’s mission is to enhance the lives of people with disabilities by obtaining the resources to recruit, train and retain a sustainable direct support workforce. The awards honor and recognize the dedicated individuals who continually enrich the lives of the people with disabilities they serve.

Through its landmark National Advocacy Campaign, ANCOR continues to provide a strong voice in Washington for the direct support workforce on issues that affect their ability to provide quality supports to millions of Americans with disabilities. In addition, ANCOR has led the way to increasingly high standards for quality, inclusion and individual choice.

Why Submit a Nomination?

In addition to advancing the goals of the NAC, your nomination provides an opportunity to spotlight the critical value and importance you place on your dedicated direct support staff while educating your local media, elected officials and supporters about the value DSPs bring to their communities. And it’s great for worker morale. Each nominee is considered a "finalist" and acknowledged accordingly by ANCOR.

Nomination Process

Only nominations submitted online through ANCOR's website will be eligible for consideration. Nominations must be received no later than Friday, December 12, 2014.

Remember, every organization, regardless of its status as an ANCOR member, its size or the number of states in which it operates, may nominate up to three DSPs per state. See additional details on the nomination form.

Please read carefully and follow the instructions on the nomination form. Every year some DSPs are disadvantaged because their nominations are poorly written or are not responsive to the prompts. Please be sure to do your DSPs justice by reading and following the instructions. Also, please note that Criteria 6 is new this year.

Only nominations accompanied by a clear digital photograph of the nominee (preferably with the person(s) they serve or in a work environment) will be eligible for consideration.

All state and national award recipients will be announced at ANCOR's 2015 Conference. The national recipient will be invited to attend the conference at ANCOR's expense.

Nomination Form

The deadline for nominations was December 12, 2014.

Guidance for Nominators

For additional information about how to make your submissions in the future, click here.


Please direct any questions to Debra Langseth.

Thank you for your continued commitment to the direct support workforce and the delivery of quality long term supports and services to those with disabilities. All nominations are confidential. ANCOR will secure release forms from nominees before using their name or likeness in any public communications.

For More Information: