2013 Direct Support Professional of the YearImage Banner

2013 Direct Support Professional of the Year

You are here

2013 Direct Support Professional of the Year

Wednesday, May 1, 2013

ANCOR Names Rosie Moriarty 2013 DSP of The Year

Honored for work in support of community living for people with disabilities

The American Network of Community Options and Resources (ANCOR) is pleased to recognize Rosie Moriarty of Dakota Communities in Eagan, Minnesota as the recipient of the 2013 National Direct Support Professional Recognition Award.

ANCOR presented the award to Moriarty at a ceremony honoring direct support professionals at ANCOR’s 2013 Conference: Because We All Matter.

Since 2007, ANCOR has honored exceptional Direct Support Professionals with the Direct Support Professional Recognition Award for exemplary work in furthering community inclusion and full participation for the many Americans living with intellectual, developmental and other disabilities. In this year’s field of more than 240 nominees, Moriarty rose to the top, alongside 45 others named state recipients of the DSP Recognition Award.

Moriarty, an LPN who has worked as a DSP for 25 years, came to the field to support her son who has an intellectual disability. Since 2008, she has provided full-time support to Melanie Kett, a friend who has Multiple Sclerosis and with whom she also lives. The two have forged a friendship and unbreakable bond built on love and mutual respect. Rosie and Mel are also active advocates, meeting with state representatives, lobbying for budget changes and the preservation of services for people with disabilities, and participating in public forums.

“Rosie is the kind of person who if you bottled up her energy and sold it, you’d be a millionaire,” said Antonia Gillen, Director of Community Life at Dakota Communities. “I have never met anyone anywhere who is so positive and full of sunshine. Rosie keeps the spark of life going for Mel through trips and friends and activities and she can maintain that level of energy for 24 hours every day. She is simply amazing.”

“It was incredibly gratifying to read the stories of so many outstanding DSPs among this year’s nominations,” said Renee Pietrangelo, ANCOR CEO. “We’re only honoring the very best among them, but truly there are thousands of DSPs around the country who deserve recognition for the hard work, dedication and compassion they show every day.”

ANCOR’s Direct Support Professional Recognition Award is given to those who personify the values of ANCOR’s National Advocacy Campaign, which works to ensure a professional and sustainable DSP workforce and to increase public awareness of their important work. Nominees are judged on their success in helping people with disabilities build social networks and engage in substantive community participation and for advocating for the people they serve.

2013 State Direct Support Professional Award Winners

  • Alabama: Shaunte Harris, ResCare Residential Services, Birmingham

  • Alaska: Jennifer Quimby, ResCare HomeCare, Soldonta

  • Arizona: Pamela Vance, ResCare HomeCare, Phoenix

  • Arkansas: Mark Hise, BOST, Booneville

  • California: Margaret Cavaness, Cole Vocational Services, Bakersfield

  • Colorado: Nicole Faucher, Mosaic, Colorado Springs

  • Connecticut: Joseph Lewis, Whole Life, Inc., Ledyard

  • Delaware: David Oruko, Mosaic, Newark

  • District of Columbia: Shanta Smith, St. John's Community Services, Washington, DC

  • Florida: Jeffrey Long, ResCare Residential Services, Clearwater

  • Georgia: Janice Browning, ResCare Residential Services, Atlanta

  • Illinois: Tracy Mattingly, The Association for Individual Development, Aurora

  • Indiana: Tinei Mesi, Dungarvin Indiana, LLC, Indianapolis

  • Iowa: Sara Roti, Mosaic, Des Moines

  • Kansas: Bernadette Russ-Cohen, Johnson County Developmental Supports, Lenexa

  • Kentucky: Renee Bibb, ResCare Residential Services, Bowling Green

  • Louisiana: Branda Fourtunia, Magnolia School, Inc., Jefferson

  • Maine: Regina Russell, OHI, Bangor

  • Maryland: Tiasonya Bazemore, New Horizons Supported Services, Inc., Upper Marlboro

  • Massachusetts: Dimitru Condratchi, WCI, Waltham

  • Minnesota: Carla Colvin, Opportunity Partners, Coon Rapids

  • Missouri: LaRasha McMiller, St. Louis Arc, St. Louis

  • Montana: Stephen Thompson, Missoula Developmental Service Corporation, Missoula

  • Nebraska: Dede Nichols, Mosaic, Omaha

  • Nevada: Cheryl Trice, Dungarvin Nevada, LLC, Carson City

  • New Jersey: Jovianne Francois, Community Access Unlimited, Elizabeth

  • New Mexico: Roxanne Remo, Dungarvin New Mexico, LLC, Albuquerque

  • New York: Heidi Friedman, The Arc of Delaware County, Arkville

  • New York: Serge Kirillov, AHRC-NYC, Brooklyn

  • North Carolina: Kim Gibbs, ResCare Residential Services, Wilkesboro

  • North Dakota: Ricardi Jones, HIT, Inc., Mandan

  • Ohio: Miriam Sigman, New Avenues to Independence, Inc., Cleveland

  • Oklahoma: Virginia Schmedthorst, Dungarvin Oklahoma, LLC, Norman

  • Oregon: Alisha Cannon, RISE Services Inc., Salem

  • Pennsylvania: Kaori Kelly, Keystone Human Services Central Region Intellectual Disabilities Services, Harrisburg

  • South Dakota: Airryn Big Eagle, Oahe, Inc., Pierre

  • Tennessee: Charles Uvenio, Sunrise Community of TN, Clarksville

  • Texas: Ignacio Cantu, Mosaic, Carrollton

  • Utah: Heidi Murray, Dungarvin Utah, LLC, Kearns

  • Vermont: Heidi Lorenz, Families First, Brattleboro

  • Virginia: John Taeush, Community Residences Inc., Chantilly

  • Washington: Jan Williams, Community Residential Services Association, Bellevue

  • West Virginia: Stephen Oates, Potomac Center, Inc., Romney

  • Wisconsin: Louis Farmer, Dungarvin Wisconsin, LLC, Milwaukee

  • Wyoming: Ed Ulrich, Ark Regional Services, Laramie